Backpacking Thailand | Day 2a: The Old, The New and The Timeless

Day 2a – Old Thailand, New Thailand !

IMG_4858
Address: 4 Na Phra That Alley, Khwaeng Phra Borom Maha Ratchawang, Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10200, Thailand

My first stop for the day was the Bangkok National Museum which is just a short walking distance from the Grand Palace. The entrance was free when I visited as commemoration of the King’s death. They have also provided a map of the whole compound which is very helpful. I also got to see some students busy with painting.

IMG_4855

IMG_4854

IMG_4851

Overall, I loved everything about the museum. It showcases Buddhism which is a big part of Thai culture. I know very little about the history, culture and art of Buddhism so visiting the museum was a learning experience for me. I would suggest to spend at least 2-3 hours to fully enjoy what Bangkok National Museum has to offer.

IMG_4857 (1).jpg

I had lunch at a small stall in the far end of the compound and I loved the noodles! Food was fairly priced as well. (Don’t be scared, the stall looks shady, but I promise the food is great!)

IMG_4856
Noodles from a small stall at the far end of the Bangkok National Museum compound

The next place I visited was the Bangkok Arts and Culture Center, which is just near my hostel and also MBK Center. It is a contemporary arts center which is open every Tuesday-Sunday at 9:30AM to 9PM.

IMG_4860
Address: 939 Rama 1 Rd, Pathum Wan, Khet Pathum Wan, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10330, Thailand

IMG_4863

Immediately upon entering, I was amazed on how big it was and how beautiful the structure is. The lower floors showcase a beautiful array of cafes and souvenir shops. The main galleries are on the upper floors. There is no entrance fee however you would need to give a security deposit(which you will get back after) for the padlock, which you will use for the lockers as you cannot bring your bags inside the exhibits.

IMG_4861
Photos taken from the Philippines displayed on the exhibit

Oh, and I also got a free souvenir, by answering a quick survey about BACC afterwards!

Leave a Reply

