Backpacking Thailand | Day 1: Sawadee krup, Bangkok!

Prior to my Bangkok travel, I researched for a lot of restaurants to try, and unfortunately, I was only able to try…. none! You’ll know why! As for the hostels, I booked both my Bangkok and Chiang Mai hostels at Hostelworld. I will write about both places in a separate blog post.

Day 0 – Adios, Pinas!

Paid the travel tax, checked in, exchanged some Pesos into Bahts, went through immigration and before I knew it, I was already on my way to Bangkok, Thailand! Flight took around 3.5 hours and could be really boring so good thing I prepared some movies to watch.

Before landing, the flight attendants will be handing out Arrival/Departure cards which you will present to the immigration counter. Make sure you have completely filled-out your name, passport number, nationality, purpose of visit, yearly income, etc. There is also a space for your address in Thailand, which is the address of your first hotel (If you will be transferring to other locations). Immigration officers will be checking your card if you filled it out properly and tell you if you need to add or change anything.

I arrived at around 11:30PM. Not having a Thai sim yet, I used the airport’s free wifi to book an Uber to my hostel. I only exchanged around TH฿1000 in NAIA T3, just enough for an Uber ride and a midnight snack. Good thing that there was a McDonalds near my hostel which is located near the National Stadium BTS Station as everything else was closed and I was too tired to go around walking at night.

IMG_4098

Day 1 – Sawadee-krup, Bangkok!

First order of business, exchange Pesos to Baht! I had my money changed at a Super Rich which is also near the National Stadium BTS. Make sure you check out what works best during your time of visit. I read in other blogs that you will get the best value if you trade your Pesos to Dollars first, and then exchange Dollars to Baht. But I just directly exchanged mine from Pesos to Baht as it was less hassle and faster to do. I also got my TrueMove simcard at a 7-Eleven for TH฿300. The girl suggested it because I can get free wifi as well in malls or establishments with TrueMove Wifi. So from there, I booked an Uber to my breakfast place called On Lok Yun.

On Lok Yun
Address: 72 Charenkrung Road Khwaeng Wang Burapha Phirom, Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10200, Thailand

On Lok Yun is an old coffee shop that has been around for 80 years and is very popular with the locals. It serves traditional breakfast. I ordered 1 Egg, Ham, Bacon and Chinese Sausage for TH฿50, Kaya for TH฿28 and Cha Yen for TH฿25.

Processed with VSCO with a10 presetProcessed with VSCO with a10 preset

Overall, the food was okay. The Cha Yen was really good! Although it might be too sweet for some, I liked it a lot. I also liked the Kaya. The bread was soft and the custard were really delicious! Decided to walk to the Grand Palace from On Lok Yun which was a 20-minute walk.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Address: Na Phra Lan Rd, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok, 10200, Thailand

Upon arriving at the Grand Palace, I was really overwhelmed by the massive number of locals and tourists. Just a few reminders when you visit the Grand Palace:

  • The Grand Palace opens daily at 8:30AM and closes at 3:30PM.
  • The day pass costs TH฿500.
  • Shorts, sleeveless, revealing or plunging neck lines, and flip flops are not allowed.

I wasn’t able to fully enjoy the whole complex as the number of people was just overwhelming. I would suggest for you to come earlier for you to really be able to go around.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Processed with VSCO with a10 presetNevertheless, I was still amazed on how intricate the designs were. Everything was just perfection.

Processed with VSCO with a10 presetI spent around 2 or 3 hours inside, then I proceeded to Wat Pho (Temple of The Reclining Buddha).

Entrance is TH฿100 with a free bottled water. Suprisingly, Wat Pho was not as crowded as I expected it to be.

Inside Wat Pho
Address: 2 Sanamchai Road, Grand Palace Subdistrict, Pranakorn District, Bangkok 10200, Thailand

I was really amazed on how detailed and meticulous the designs were and I just put my camera down and appreciated in silence the beautiful architecture.

At the entrance of the Temple of The Reclining Buddha, you can get a bowl full of 108 coins for  TH฿20, with the intent to make a wish when you drop a coin in each pot.

108 Wishes Coin Pots

Before I knew it, the sun started to set. From Wat Pho, I walked to ESS Eat Sight Story where I decided to eat early dinner with the beautiful view of Wat Arun. It’s just walking distance from Wat Pho, at the end of Tha Tian Alley.

IMG_4096

It was definitely a great way to end my first day at Bangkok, sipping some Cha Yen and eating some Pad Thai.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pepe Samson says:

    Sayang naman bawal ang plunging neckline! Joke

  2. Hilig mo pa naman magpakita ng cleavage! Haha!

Leave a Reply

